Babbling B’s Blog

Nike+ is on Facebook & Twitter

Posted on: June 25, 2009

If you’ve read my previous post, I’m a big fan of Nike+ and the way Nike is creating a social community with their website. It gets better: I found Nike+ applications for Twitter and Facebook!

I’ve been using the Twitter application for some time now. It’s really easy to set up. Just visit www.twiike.com and follow the instructions. Every time you sync a run, it will automatically generate a Twitter post for you. It also uses the #nikeplus hashtag, so you can find other people who are syncing runs and connect with them.

Nike+ status update on Twitter

Nike+ status update on Twitter

I just set up the Facebook application, so I haven’t had as much experience with it. I turned off my status updates, but it still posts my run to my profile. Search for ‘Nike+ Running Monitor’ within facebook, and follow the instruction on adding the application. This process has a few more steps and is a little more confusing that the Twitter app, but it’s still worth the effort.

Nike+ update on Facebook

Nike+ update on Facebook

Since my Twitter and Facebook profiles have pretty different audiences, I’m excited to see the new feedback I’ll be receiving. This adds to the community of runners nicely. Now, not only can Nike+ users see how my running is going on the Nike website, but I constantly have people offering encouragement and kudos. It really adds to my accountability to run, too.

Think of Nike+ social networks like the angel on your shoulder saying “everyone’s going to know if you stop running, keep it up!”

9 Responses to "Nike+ is on Facebook & Twitter"

Hey Brandi!
Thanks a lot for the blog mention!
My name is Josh Pugh and I am the developer of the Nike+ Running Monitor on Facebook :-)

I also have a Twitter one which is in beta at the moment, http://www.joshpugh.com.au/niketwitter/ ! This one is definitely still in its infancy with only a couple of hundred users, but Facebook is now up to almost 27,000!!

I’m glad to see you’re liking it and would love to know what you think of it after using it for a few weeks? I know the setup is a bit confusing, but that’s only because I didn’t want users to have to give me their user/passwords for security reasons :-) If you have any ideas on how I could make it better, and especially make the setup easier, please let me know. And that goes for everyone!

My website is http://www.joshpugh.com.au and my email is josh@joshpugh.com.au

Regards,
Josh

[...] A recent USA Today article notes the increasing usage of Web-enabled products that help you monitor your workouts and give you real-time coaching. The Nike+ shoes and iPod system is one of the market leaders. The Nike+ shoes come with a sensor that tracks your run, then sends the data to your iPod. It even has its own social network. And what Web product circa 2010 doesn’t come with a Twitter and Facebook connection? Sure enough, the Nike+ can automatically tweet. [...]

[...] Nike+ system.  I returned from the run and immediately plugged my iPod into my computer so I could let all my Facebook and Twitter friends see what I’d done. Then I went to the Nike+ website to review my [...]

[...] to your iPod. As we explained earlier this month, Nike+ has its own social network. Nike+ can also send updates to Twitter and post a status report on [...]

[...] that tracks your run, then sends the data to your iPod. It even has its own social network and can automatically tweet and post a status report on [...]

[...] that tracks your run, then sends the data to your iPod. It even has its own social network and can automatically tweet and post a status report on [...]

[...] that tracks your run, then sends the data to your iPod. It even has its own social network and can automatically tweet and post a status report on [...]

[...] that tracks your run, then sends the data to your iPod. It even has its own social network and can automatically tweet and post a status report on [...]

[...] that tracks your run, then sends the data to your iPod. It even has its own social network and can automatically tweet and post a status report on [...]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Twitter Updates

TwitterCounter for @brandiheinz Social Media Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

del.icio.us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

