Babbling B’s Blog

Run with Nike+

Posted on: April 11, 2009

Nike+ Kit (image from freshnessmag.com)

Nike+ Kit (image from freshnessmag.com)

In a previous post I touched briefly on Nike+, but didn’t go into much detail. While this is not a traditional social media/networking tool, I think it’s interesting how Nike has tapped into those features to create a running community that spans around the world.

How did I find out about it? It all started with an Amazon gift card I was given for my birthday. I knew I needed some new athletic shoes, and am a big fan of Nike Shox. I found a well-priced pair of shoes and saw that they were Nike+ shoes. I had a little more money left on my gift card, so I also purchased the Nike+ iPod Sport kit (it’s listed on Apple’s website for $29).

What does this mean? Basically there is a place cutout in the shoe where you can place a running sensor (Note: you can purchase a ‘pouch’ for your sensor that can be tied into your laces for a lot less then a new pair of shoes). Then, there is a small piece that you plug into your iPod, and, voila! Your sensor can communicate with your iPod to track your run speed, time, calorie burned and distance. Then, when you plug your iPod into your computer, it syncs up with your iTunes and Nikeplus.com accounts to graph out your run, track your runs to date etc.

Wanna see how it works? Here is a run I just synced up.

BabblingB's Synced Run

BabblingB's Synced Run

All of that is great, but what Nike has done to create community is the interesting part here. You can set personal goals, but you can also set up challenges and invite friends – or, leave it open and anyone can join the challenge.

I’m also a part of a few challenges, such as ‘Most miles in 30 days’ ‘100-mile Milestone Challenge’, or you can set up personal goals – mine is 12 runs in 4 weeks.

I have a ways to go...

I have a ways to go...

My running goal this month

My running goal this month

All in all I am very happy with my Nike+ purchase! It makes running fun for me again, and makes me feel accountable and more determined to run. If you’re a runner, you have to try this out!

Challenge me. My username is ‘brandigirl’. I need the motivation!

2 Responses to "Run with Nike+"

I love running with my Nike+. The only downside I have had is it losing my data when I switch sensors.

[…] If you’ve read my previous post, I’m a big fan of Nike+ and the way Nike is creating a social community with their […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 18 other followers

Twitter Updates

TwitterCounter for @brandiheinz Social Media Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

del.icio.us

