Babbling B’s Blog

Wedding Resources for Social Media Fanatics

Posted on: January 18, 2010

Image from the Huffington Post

I’ve only been engaged for about 3 months now, but I’ve done a TON of research online. Since I’m planning a Florida wedding from Chicago, I have lots to research so I can capitalize on my few trips to Florida between now and our April 30, 2011 wedding.

Planning from afar can be tough and you have to make a lot of judgments by photos and email correspondence alone. However, I have figured out some ways to cut through the clutter and I figured I’d share my findings, along with specific examples (most are going to be in the Pensacola/Panama City area, but you’ll get the idea).

1) Standard Wedding Planning Websites: Of course, TheKnot.com is a favorite and always recommended. I spent a ton of time on here to begin with, but soon became a little bored with the site. Since I’m interested in doing as much DIY as possible, I’ve really became a huge fan of MarthaStewartWeddings.com – plus their budget tool is the best one I’ve tried so far.

2) Photography/Event Planner blogs: This is my biggest finding and what I’ve been telling all my friends to check out (FYI I have TEN weddings to attend in 2010…). Photography and Event Planner blogs are great for ideas and getting a feel for what kind of wedding and photographers you want. It’s the perfect way for these businesses to showcase what they can do, and it’s a great way to get a taste of their style – not to mention you almost feel like you’re getting to know them by reading their blog posts. Personally, I’ve found that I definitely want a casual, intimate beach wedding, and I’ve learned I’m looking for a more photojournalistic photography style. No need for too many posed shots as far as I’m concerned – bring on the candids at our fun beach party!
Faves: CookImages.comMeg Baisden Photography, Pure 7 Studios, Shelby Peaden EventsBliss Event Group

3) Wedding Communities/Blogs: I’ve joined two wedding communities AND these communities happen to have awesome blogs as well: StyleMePretty.com and Marry Me at the Beach (just starting up). I would definitely recommend finding communities that fit your needs – these ones combine basic forums with photos and profiles to make it more of a dynamic experience to find brides with similar interests to you.

Next Time: Twitter. I haven’t gotten to a point where I’ve really built up my Twitter Wedding network yet, but that’s next on my list. Any suggestions?

3 Responses to "Wedding Resources for Social Media Fanatics"

This sounds like a second job. Now I see why some people just elope. Just kidding!

I want to watch this evolve over the next two years.

It’s definitely a second job! There’s so much to research – and lots of money to be made. Too bad I’m the one paying it!

[…] may recall from my previous post that I’ve been using social media as much as possible in planning my Florida destination […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 18 other followers

Twitter Updates

TwitterCounter for @brandiheinz Social Media Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

del.icio.us

